A handmade wedding: Part 1

Dumbelton wedding May 24, 2014, in Mountain Grove, Mo.

Copyright Taylor Glascock.

Today is our 6-month wedding anniversary, so I thought this would be the perfect day to start a series I’ve been wanting to do for a while. My friend Lizzie at Home, Make, Be has been blogging about the making of her wedding, and I’ve really been enjoying reading it. I also found it really inspiring and comforting to read about couples who did DIY weddings during the run-up to our own wedding, so why not add the details of how we made our wedding to the bajillion other wedding posts out there on the internet? So here you have it: my handmade wedding.

First things first: the pictures in this post are a bit misleading – we did not make our own wedding rings! For me, though, rings are one of the (if not the) most important parts of a wedding, given they’re really the part that becomes most integrated into your daily life. My husband (!) says wearing the ring is what he’s enjoyed the most since getting married. While we didn’t actually make the rings ourselves, they still reflected our attitude toward the wedding, which was to make everything as personal as possible.

R got his ring (pictured above, and yes, that’s a TARDIS for a ring pillow. I knit it myself!) in the Jewellery Quarter of Birmingham. It’s a simple gold band, but he had already tried on several and really liked how this one felt. Both of his parents are also from Birmingham, so buying it there did have real significance for him.

I am a little fussier…I did look for a ring while we were there, but in spite of all the shops, didn’t manage to find anything. My engagement ring is a very simple solitaire diamond and I wanted a more elaborate ring as I do love a bit of detail. When I started looking at wedding rings online, I absolutely fell in love with the 1920s-1930s bands with orange blossoms and other little shapes engraved on them. I would quite happily have bought one, but I was just too nervous to buy a ring without trying it on. I did happen across one in a jewellery shop, but it was the wrong size and jewellers’ opinions on whether patterned rings could be resized varied and I didn’t really want to risk ruining it.

In the end, I decided to buy a plain band and have it engraved as I just couldn’t find any patterns I really loved. Drawing on the geometric patterns and flowers I saw on the antique rings, I drew up a combination of curved chevrons and a dogwood blossom.

P1170063

Copyright Jennifer Dumbelton.

 

 

And there it is! It was actually made by hand as well; we found a goldsmith in Cheltenham who made it and sent it off to an engraver he often works with in Devon. You can’t tell it’s a dogwood blossom, but that doesn’t bother me. It’s just gorgeous, and I feel so lucky to get to wear it every day as a reminder of my marriage. The first 6 months have absolutely flown by and I am looking forward to many more happy months and years.

 

Photo 1: Taylor Glascock and Erin Stubblefield

 

Leave a Reply

