Signing up for the vintage pledge

Not long after I started Pastry & Purls, I came across A Stitching Odyssey’s vintage pledge, where she and many of her blog’s followers committed to sew 5 vintage patterns. I was so disappointed that I wouldn’t be able to participate, but alas, felt my sewing skills weren’t up to scratch. Also, I couldn’t possibly have sewn 5 objects between October and December! It was a shame, though, because I already knew that I intended to incorporate vintage into my sewing, whether it be in the pattern or the fabric. I also knew that the dress I’ve now finished would be my first project, and why not make it part of a larger commitment to sew vintage? After all, a big part of the reason I wanted to learn was that I keep falling hopelessly in love with vintage fabric I stumble across in secondhand shops. The drawings on vintage patterns (knitting or sewing) are also irresistible. I can’t deny that I bought sewing patterns long before I had a sewing machine.

You can imagine I was thrilled to read the vintage pledge was going to be happening again this year, this time with Kerry over at Kestrel Makes. I hadn’t come across Kestrel Makes before, but have been reading through her blog & really enjoying her open writing style and the fact that she does both knitting and sewing. (Plus, she sewed a horse – how impressive is that?!) So I will definitely be participating with the vintage pledge this year, albeit with my own take on it. I’m new to sewing, but have been knitting for a few years. So here’s my vintage pledge:

I, Jennifer, will sew at least 3 items using vintage patterns and/or fabric, and knit 2 items using vintage patterns.

Why more sewn items than knitted? Well, it’s a nice excuse to find more patterns, as I don’t have many vintage sewing patterns yet. 😉 I also want to make sure I get more sewing practice to build my confidence. There’s also the fact that vintage sewing patterns, while they will probably require as much interpretation (for me, at least) as a vintage knitting pattern, can at least be made using easy-to-find modern material. Vintage knitting patterns, on the other hand, often use yarn weights that are no longer produced, or are extremely expensive; the pattern may need to be adapted to account for modern yarn, etc. I also think I’ll need to make more size adjustments for knitted garments than sewn. (Unless I randomly decide to sew a wiggle dress, in which case I’m in big trouble!) Happily, last year I bought Knit Back in Time, which gives detailed instructions on just that. Even though I’m just planning to knit 2 vintage items, I want to take my time and try out some of the suggestions in the book this year.

Wish me luck! Will you be participating, too? What’s your personal #vintagepledge?

Leave a Reply

