Moving to the yarn-along

P1000357

The astute among you will have noticed that I didn’t do an In-between Tuesday post yesterday. This was actually deliberate, as I can now officially announce it’s the shortest-lived blog feature ever! I hadn’t thought it through properly and found I really didn’t enjoy writing it. What I really wanted to do was write about knitting and reading. Happily, I’m not the only one. Ginny started the yarn-along on a Wednesday as a space to share what she (and others) are reading and knitting. Perfect! It can be really nice to do things as part of a community, so I thought I’d join in and abandon the In-between Tuesday. This week’s entry is still on a train. It’s been so chilly that I’ve been treating myself to a flask of tea on the train.

I’m reading: The Miniaturist, Jessie Burton

This was the hot book of last year. I happily spotted it on the shelf at the library and grabbed it before someone else could. While I enjoyed it, I am still not quite sure whether it lived up to the hype for me. I didn’t get really absorbed until about 1/3 of the way in. All in all, I’m glad I borrowed it rather than buying it, but I can still see myself rereading it. I would recommend it to you, as well, if you can find a copy.

I’m knitting: hearts Well, Valentine’s Day is coming up. These hearts aren’t actually for Valentine’s Day, though, they’re for a top-secret project which involves libraries. 🙂 I must admit I am not much of an object-knitter; I much prefer garments, so these aren’t the most enjoyable knit for me. I am looking forward to this project, though so I know it’ll be worth it in the end. Part of the reason this is such a brief post is that I want to get as many made as possible before the 5th, when the project needs to be finished.

Leave a Reply

