Dreaming & planning the vintage pledge

There are about 10 patterns for tops in this 1950s women's magazine supplement. At least 2 are serious contenders to be among this year's vintage makes.
There are about 10 patterns for tops in this 1950s women’s magazine supplement. At least 2 are serious contenders to be among this year’s vintage makes.

Lots of people are getting stuck in with their vintage pledge already, but I’m a planner. Sometimes it’s just as exciting to dream and think about possibilities. So rather than diving straight into my first project of the year, I’m going to go through my patterns and fabric and just imagine some of the possibilities. I have to admit that this is partially because the dress was quite a big project and I’d prefer a smaller one for now. I am drawn toward complicated patterns or difficult fabrics, especially when it comes to vintage patterns, but I’m going to put them on hold for a little while. Also, I desperately need a winter hat, so I will do that as a quick knit for now while I plot my vintage makes.

In the meantime, I thought I’d share a few of the vintage sewing and knitting patterns I already have, and a couple of fabrics/yarn, because they’re where I’ll be starting my planning. I can’t claim to have an actual collection; they’re all things I picked up in charity shops on a whim. On the other hand, I only buy items I can genuinely imagine myself using, so perhaps I should just say my collection is very curated. šŸ™‚

P1000351
Pretty vintage patterns deserve a pretty folder to be kept in. šŸ™‚
P1000350
I have a lots of 1940s Stitchcraft magazines.
P1000349
Lots of my sewing patterns are from the 1970s. I tend to like the shapes, and I think the high waists suit my body shape.

As a lover of textiles, I tend to prefer being inspired by fabric, rather than a pattern. This may change as I get more sewing experience, but at the moment that’s hard to imagine. Have you found that your sources of inspiration for making things change?

There is one piece of fabric in particular I’m determined to use this year:

P1000390

I spotted this fabric in a shop in Hereford. The shop was awesome and only had vintage textiles and haberdashery materials. I will definitely be going back again! There are 3+ metres of this green woven fabric, which I suspect is some sort of cotton/acrylic blend. It’s exactly the same bright, grass green as a 60s jumper I have. I immediately thought of summer when I saw it (back in December), so I had to have it. I nearly missed my train buying it, but I think it was worth it.

P1000395

My original plan was to make a circle skirt out of it, because it swings so nicely. But then I saw this tutorial about hemstitching, and now I can’t decide whether to do hemstitching or a circle skirt. I don’t think I can do both given that circle skirts are cut on the bias. Argh! I also think I might do a bit of embroidery on it. It’s so plain and lovely that I think it deserves some extra attention. Any thoughts on which might be better?

Still on the green front, I bought 500g of Rowan fine lace in Patina the other day. It was half price, but sold as a lot (I probably would have gotten about 200-250g if I could’ve). It was also an impulse buy, but given the fine weight of so many vintage knits, I thought it would be really useful for my vintage knitting pledge. I might well use it for one of the 50s tops in the supplement above. Keep your eyes out for a lovely green sweater or dress this year! Hopefully I’ll start to branch out in terms of colour now.

P1000398

P1000400

Leave a Reply

