Vintage pledge: Simplicity 5728

So who watched the Great British Sewing Bee this week? It was my favourite so far – I want all of those sheer blouses! I also loved that they were asked to use curtain fabric to make a dress, because I’d spotted some in a charity shop the week before and thought it would make a beautiful dress. I didn’t buy it and now deeply regret it. Fingers crossed it’ll still be there when I get a chance to go back. I also realised how much I like Deborah – the blouse she made was lovely, and her wedding dress was stunning! I’m now following her blog Dfabricate and suggest you do the same, as it’s a pleasure to read.

On to the vintage pledge! It’s nearly the end of February and I still haven’t actually starting making any of my vintage pledge items. If I’m honest, it’s because I was planning to use a far simpler fabric like cotton for my next project and a simpler pattern as well. Unfortunately when I visited the local fabric store there wasn’t much cotton that appealed to me. There was one rather lovely lightweight cotton with blue stripes that I might go back for, but I would need to use a lining. Finding a simple pattern that appeals is difficult, too; I just don’t think tunic styles (of course the easiest to make) suit me, and I already have about a million skirts and don’t need any more.

Last week I decided that there was no point in me spending ages searching for the perfect simple item, when in fact there are other items already in my stash that I want to make, even if they do involve more work. I’ll just do a muslin in cheap cotton that I’m not overly fond of to make sure I get the fit right. 🙂

In that spirit, I’m pleased to say that I’ve finally chosen my first vintage sewing pattern! It’s Simplicity 5728, a 1970s misses pattern that I will be modifying. I love the skirt (I will make the shorter version) and the fitted bodice that goes under the bust. I am not, however, a fan of that collar. I will either leave it off and go for a V neck, or possibly go even more complicated and do a keyhole neckline, inspired by this Warehouse dress I used to have:

P1030226

P1120895

I did love that dress, but unfortunately I outgrew it.

I’m not in a particular hurry to finish my new dress quickly, but I am excited about choosing it so I can go hunt for the perfect fabric! I can’t wait. Any suggestions?

1 thought on “Vintage pledge: Simplicity 5728”

Leave a Reply

