Wednesday yarn-along no. 4

P1000927

Work is still very busy, and R & I currently have 500+ items listed on eBay, so this week taking time to read/knit is both important and difficult. Luckily I have managed to do a little of both on the train. Yesterday I finished The Virtues of the Table, and I’m happy to say that I can recommend it. While the logic (from my non-trained perspective) isn’t infallible in a few of the chapters, overall it presents a balanced view of lots of the issues around food & eating – organic, GMO, solitary eating, balanced diets, weight loss, etc – by linking them to virtues Baggini feels people should exhibit – for example, justice, compassion, conviviality, amongst others. While Baggini draws his own conclusions, he generally presents arguments on both sides, with evidence, so you could theoretically draw your own. Plus, I love that it has both a footnotes/references section and a bibliography. Referencing for the win!

What I’m knitting: Lacy jumper by Alison Robson

I’ve had my eye on this pattern for well over a year. It’s in Knitting issue 96 (December 2011), which I found in a charity shop for 50p. I’m excited to finally be using it. The Rowan fine lace yarn I bought recently seemed perfect for it. However, the pattern uses 4-ply while my yarn is 2 ply, which means I’m having to swatch to make sure I still manage to get the right gauge/tension. The needles in the picture are 2.5 mm and are still too big. Using teeny tiny needles means this project will be a long-term one, and I will probably end up taking a break from it at some point. I still think it will be worth it, because I think this sweater is just stunning. As for using such a dramatically different yarn? Well, I think it’ll look nice, plus there was also a review of Rowan Fine Lace in the same magazine, so I think it’s meant to be. đŸ˜‰

What I’m reading: Raising Steam by Terry Pratchett

This is my bedtime reading, because what better way to calm down at the end of the day than with a bit of humor? Pratchett’s one of my favourite authors, too, so I read pretty much any books by him.

What are you reading or knitting? Do you prefer long-term or short-term projects, or a bit of both like me?

Leave a Reply

