Wednesday yarn-along no. 6

P1000999

I’ve gotten a bit behind with this blog, but I’m determined to keep it up. It’s really helping me focus my mind a few evenings a week. Plus, in some strange way it’s keeping me motivated to go read other people’s blogs. Is that a terrible reason to keep doing this?

What I’m knitting: cable jumper

You guessed it, it’s the same one I’ve already written about. I’ve spent very little time knitting this past week; I found The Cuckoo’s Calling quite absorbing and read it a little obsessively. As a result, I had less yarn time. But what I have done so far is turning out reasonably well. I am enjoying it so far. It’s an 8-row pattern, so it’s not actually as complicated as I initially thought.

What I’m reading: Sew Your Own by John-Paul Flintoff

This is another random library find, this time in the 646s (where you’ll also find dressmaking books). I only started it yesterday. However, while I find the concept interesting, I am reading this with a bit of cynicism. I’m not overly impressed with the writing so far (it tries too hard to be amusing), but I am really looking forward to learning more about how Flintoff came to the conclusion that he should make all his own clothes. So far I’ve only read about his experience with ultra-tailored suits and New York sweatshops and it’s already convinced me to look at buying off-the-rack clothes differently.

 

I know I’ve been neglecting Pastry & Purls slightly, but I am finally getting started on my circle skirt, which means there’ll be a new sewing post soon!

Leave a Reply

