Wednesday yarn-along no. 8

P1010527*Photo to come soon!*

I am away from home for work and, alas, didn’t bring my camera cable to allow me to upload a picture.

What I’m reading:

I’ve got 2 this week: Gideon Smith & the Mechanical Girl and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.

Gideon Smith is a classic steampunk adventure book. I love a bit of steampunk, sci-fi and fantasy! This takes a lot of common tropes and puts them into the same book, with mixed success. I won’t give everything away, but I will say Bram Stoker is a character, penny dreadfuls play a significant role, and there are dirigibles & automatons. It does feel a bit over the top at times, to be honest, but it is also a good, absorbing read. Gideon Smith was a nice comforting read, and I would recommend it.

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is an old favourite. It’s about a 12-year-old girl growing up in Brooklyn in 1912. Betty Smith published it in 1943, and it really hasn’t aged at all. The characters are well-rounded, and you really come to care about them. I last read it over 10 years ago, so I am looking forward to seeing how my perceptions of it change.

What I’m knitting

The lace/cable jumper is marching on! I’ve now finished the back, and cast on for the beginning of the front on the train yesterday. I am quite pleased with the back, so am excited about getting the front started. To be honest, it’s coming along a lot quicker than I anticipated, so I am hoping to finish it by the end of May (best not to be too ambitious!)

So what are you working on this week? Any big projects on the go?

Leave a Reply

