Newcastle & a new piece of art

P1010747

Last week was a little out of the ordinary, as I travelled up to Newcastle for work. Of course I didn’t spend much time in the city, but I did dash into a few places and went for a walking tour. The bridges were so beautiful in person! I was impressed by the mix of architecture; there were many Georgian buildings, and for once I liked a 1960s building. The Civic Centre was built in 1967, and even has a proper powder room with mirrored walls and chrome stools. Visiting there was like going back in time; I loved it! The Newcastle Literary and Philosophical Library was of a different era but equally stunning. If you are into libraries or 18th century architecture, it’s a must-see. It’s also right next to where Hadrian’s Wall used to run, which I think adds to its charm.

Thomas Bewick, one of my favourite engravers, was from Newcastle. Bewick’s most famous for his engravings of birds; Jane Eyre was given a copy of Bewick’s Birds by her cousin. He captured an exceptional level of detail in his woodcuts, and I could happily spend hours looking at them. When the site of his former workshop was pointed out on the walking tour, I was thrilled! I popped into the Laing Art Gallery on another day and spotted that they were selling prints from woodblocks from Bewick’s workshop. Choosing one was so hard, but in the end I went for this image of a tree blowing in the wind. Isn’t it beautiful? I can’t wait to find a frame for it.

P1010748

Below are a few of my favourite pictures from the trip. Have you been to Newcastle? What should I go see if I ever get to go back?

Pivot bridge, Newcastle

My favourite bridge, the pivot bridge.

 

P1010617

The Ship Inn, next to Seven Stories. How could I resist taking a picture of this?

 

P1010615

Definitely my favourite poster!

 

Newcastle busker

Darth Vader busking (playing The Beatles).

 

P1010690

Grainger Market. I was so impressed with it; if you live nearby, make sure you check it out!

 

P1010709

A local church.

 

P1010624

Vampire bunny? On an office building behind St. Nicholas’ Cathedral.

 

P1010623

The blue plaque commemorating Thomas Bewick’s workshop! So exciting!

 

P1010705

A beautiful Burne Jones in the Laing Art Gallery.

 

P1010665

The Literary & Philosophical Library.

 

P1010678

Could this be the best office door ever? Lit & Phil Library again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

