Spring fever vintage fabric

Spring is my favourite season, and one of my favourite things about living in England is how long it lasts. It started what feels like forever ago, and is just now starting to feel a bit more summerlike. Is it the same where you are?

The past couple of weeks have been beautifully sunny here. My winter coat has been put away and I’m cycling more slowly just so I have more time under the trees (I cycle along a path with lots of greenery). But today, I think the sunshine may have influenced me when I bought this very bright, bold vintage fabric at a charity shop. The selvedge says Transfertex fashion design, and based on the fact that it’s a a very lightweight polyester, I think it’s probably from the 80s or maybe even the 70s. It cost £3.95 for probably near 3 metres (I haven’t measured it yet).

P1010777

P1010775

P1010776

This fabric is way out of my comfort zone. Also, I can’t help thinking about how much my mum will hate it (Hi, Mum!). Nonetheless, I couldn’t resist. The colours are very pretty, and I really like the lines within the roses. For less than £4, I would’ve regretted not buying it.

I’d like to use this as part of my vintage pledge, but I have no idea what to use it for. The reality is that it’s nothing like prints I usually wear. Delicate probably describes my usual taste best, and this fabric is bold, bright, and big. I’d love to hear your suggestions for what to make with large print fabric!

4 thoughts on “Spring fever vintage fabric

  1. Maybe you can combine it with a similar weight fabric that just picks up one of the colors? It does look like it might be a bit overwhelming in large amounts.

    Like

  2. Oh I love this fabric! It would make a perfect fifties dress 🙂 I’m looking for fabric to make a dress for my brothers wedding and I don’t even know where to start…

    Like

Leave a Reply

