Wednesday yarn-along no. 9

I haven’t done a yarn-along for a few weeks now. I’ve missed it a bit, but at the same time I don’t want to bore the few people who are actually reading Pastry & Purls. I’ve been working on the same project for ages now! I do finally have some progress to share, though, and I am convinced I will meet my goal of finishing it this month. If I work hard I think I might be able to finish before my anniversary, which would be pretty exciting.

I’m knitting: lace jumper by Alison Robson

Yup, it’s the same one I keep posting about! The front and back are finally done, so I just have the sleeves and neck to go. Unfortunately there seems to be a gap in the instructions here. However, I think I’ve figured out what I need to do, so I’m not going to let that slow me down. I think it looks pretty gorgeous so far. The other impressive thing about this sweater is that so far it’s used less than 50 grams of wool! It genuinely feels like I imagine a cloud would.

I’m reading: Elizabeth Bishop: The Collected Prose

P1010874

Another reason to love Bishop: she was a cat person!

If you’ve never read Bishop’s poetry, I demand you stop reading this and immediately go find some of her work! Her verse is clear and evocative, but never sentimental. I’ve been a fan for years, but I had no idea she’d also written prose. This book caught my eye when I was *accidentally* walking through the literature section at work. Though Demelza is my current bedtime reading, I was in between train books, so decided to borrow it. If I’m honest, it was that portrait on the back that swung it.

P1010873

Bishop’s prose is as clear and precise as her poetry. I often found myself laughing or getting upset, a true sign of her ability to connect to me as a reader. There is sufficient detail to make me feel like I’m there, but not so much that the narrative gets lost. So far I’ve only read the essays, and I’m looking forward to the short stories. What’s also interesting about these is that they were published posthumously by Bishop’s publisher. Has that made them very different to what she would have chosen herself? It’s hard to say, but it is an interesting thought to bear in mind throughout the collection. Though I haven’t finished this yet, I can highly recommend it.

2 thoughts on “Wednesday yarn-along no. 9

  1. Gorgeous jumper! You have way more patience than me in dealing with lace knitting! I really want to read the Poldark books but I suspect the library wait would be intolerable… (side note – I love the name Demelza, it’s sounds wonderfully strong :))

    Like

    • Ah, but I don’t have the patience to learn how to do colourwork. Poldark’s worth the wait, I think. There was a whole circle of people in grad school who kept talking about it, so I bought the whole set at a comic con (of all places!). The characters are wonderful, and it’s a really comforting series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

