One year ago: Wedding memories

Mr P&P and I have been together 6 years, but we finally got married last year. It was a perfect day (though I did get upset about the downpour 20 mins before our ceremony!) which was full of love, homemade food, and music. I won’t bore you with loads of mushiness or sentimental photos (just a few), but I did want to share some pictures of a few of my favourite details. I like to think of it as a pretty, quirky wedding where guests felt at home. Most importantly, it felt like a proper celebration and was the perfect way to mark 5 years together and set out our hopes & plans for the future. I think our photographers, Taylor Glascock and Erin Stubblefield, did a brilliant job of capturing that.

One year on, a lot has changed for the two of us (definitely for the good!). But we love looking back at our photos & cards and thinking about the work that went into the day and how happy we were. I am looking forward to many more years of the same!

Image copyright Taylor Glascock.

Dinner tables decorated with peonies and other flowers from Mum’s garden, LEGO minifigures under glass cloches, and bottles of local wine. We decorated the tent by hanging pictures on yarn by the tent poles; there was at least one picture of each guest, and by the dancefloor (in the photo) we had pictures from some of the gigs we’d been to. Dumbelton wedding May 24, 2014, in Mountain Grove, Mo.

Image copyright Taylor Glascock

My beautiful pearl earrings, bought on Etsy. These are easily the most gorgeous piece of jewelry I own (wedding ring excepted, of course!). Dumbelton wedding May 24, 2014, in Mountain Grove, Mo.

Image copyright Taylor Glascock.

Our cake toppers! He’s Han Solo, I’m a crazy cat lady. 🙂 The linen bookmarks were one of our wedding favours, and I sewed and embroidered them by hand. I think I made 53! Dumbelton wedding May 24, 2014, in Mountain Grove, Mo.

Image copyright Taylor Glascock.

Our giant cake! The bottom layer is chocolate, the second is Victoria sponge, the third is lemon, and the top is ginger. I did bake it, but a friend decorated it! Dumbelton wedding May 24, 2014, in Mountain Grove, Mo.

Image copyright Taylor Glascock

My shoes (bought in a charity shop) and the bouquet I made that morning (again, all flowers from Mum’s massive garden). If you look closely, you can see the antique lace on the bottom of my dress, and the pointed sleeves on my 1920s dress. You can see his Villa tie, too. 🙂 Dumbelton wedding May 24, 2014, in Mountain Grove, Mo.

There are a few more pictures on Taylor’s website. Go have a look, and check out the rest of her work as well. She’s a great photojournalist. And if you love wedding photos, Erin‘s pretty great, too.

We’re celebrating our anniversary in Hay-on-Wye, which is perfect as it’s one of the first places we travelled to together. And don’t you think it’s appropriate to spend our paper anniversary in a town of bookshops? I’m taking my film camera just like I did last time. As you can see, I got a couple of lovely shots back then. Fingers crossed it works out again!

Hay-on-Wye 002

Hay on Wye, antique shop. Sorry it’s a bit grainy – it didn’t scan as well as I would’ve liked.

Hay-on-Wye 005

Outside Hay Castle

As you can tell, I’m a bit of a sentimental! Do you have places you like to return to because they hold special memories for you?

One thought on “One year ago: Wedding memories

  1. Pingback: More adventures in Hay | Pastry & purls

Leave a Reply

