Wednesday yarn-along no. 11

Happy Wednesday! Are you as glad as me that the week’s halfway over? Summer restlessness has well and truly struck, and weeks are dragging while weekends just aren’t long enough.We’re planning a little holiday in July, so I’m hoping that will counteract some of this general malaise.

I am also happily knitting and reading as per usual.

P1020102

What I’m reading: Annihilation, by Jeff VanderMeer

VanderMeer is an award-winning science fiction author. It’s been a while since I’ve read proper sci-fi, though I’ve been reading a lot of fantasy this year, and I’ve never read anything by VanderMeer before. Annihilation has a traditional sci-fi plot and I am loving it so far. The premise is that Area X, bordering on an unnamed country, suffered an environmental disaster many years ago, and the unnamed country has sent 11 expeditions to explore what is happening there. None of them proved successful (in fact, many explorers came back, couldn’t relay details about Area X, and died of cancer). Annihilation is told from the perspective of a biologist on the twelfth expedition. The writing is focused, giving clear description and really allowing you to visualise what the biologist is seeing and experiencing. It is also tense, a very hard thing to accomplish. Overall, it makes for compulsive reading. I fully expect to finish it by the end of the day! It’s part of a trilogy, so I will be making sure the others are in stock at work. 🙂

What I’m knitting: Brioche stitch tea cozy

After the marathon that was the lace jumper, I wanted to make something simple. Not long ago, my mom mentioned that she wanted a tea cozy. I know it’s not seasonable, but it seemed appropriate nonetheless. I bought this beautiful yarn at a wool festival in Farnham a couple of years ago. I think the colour will suit her house. I’ve got a second, brighter blue from Hay-on-Wye to use as well, because the pattern uses two strands of DK.

What exciting projects are you working on at the moment? Do you have any books you can recommend for next week?

Linking up with the yarn-along.

4 thoughts on “Wednesday yarn-along no. 11

Leave a Reply

