Independence Day and a new favourite dress

Happy 4th of July, lovely readers! I was out and about yesterday, so I didn’t have a chance to post. P1020374

Even though I’ve lived in the UK for over 6 years now, and it’s nearly home, a big part of my heart is still in Missouri. It’s hard not to be a little homesick on the 4th of July, the most American holiday of all. Usually there’s loads of fireworks, watermelon, BBQs, and the occasional bonfire. Some of my favourite memories are of setting off fireworks in my friends’ yards.

I always try to celebrate the 4th in some way, with American food and sparklers. This year, though, it really snuck up on me. I had the most English Independence Day ever, but it was still lovely! A friend and I went for a picnic on Rodborough Common, with salad, bread, and homegrown peas, followed by ice cream.

I wore a vintage cotton dress recently given to me by another friend. It is definitely my new favorite. It fits perfectly; I always think when vintage clothing fits perfectly it’s meant to be. Even though I’m not buying clothes this year, I thought as it fit perfectly and was a gift I’d go ahead and take it.

P1020353

P1020359

P1020357

P1020373

P1020368_2

P1020364

Leave a Reply

