Wednesday yarn-along: vintage jumper

P1030072

What I’m knitting: vintage striped jumper

As you can see, I’m not making much progress with my 1947 jumper. Lately I’ve been in the mood for reading, so I’ve read several easy books over the past couple of weeks instead of knitting. My only knitting has been on the train to/from work. Hopefully now that the Great British Bakeoff is back I will be sitting in front of the TV knitting. 🙂

What I’m reading: Gargling With Tar, Jachym Topol

I walked past this at work and got sucked in by the great cover. It’s quite different from what I usually read in many ways. It’s set in Czechoslovakia in 1968 and focuses on an orphan as he adapts to the changing regimes. I don’t know anything about this period in history, and don’t generally read books that have military as main characters so it is a bit of a leap for me. I will probably ending up reading more widely around this period so I can have a better understanding of the context.

How about you? Are you reading a comfortable book or something that stretches you?

1 thought on “Wednesday yarn-along: vintage jumper”

Leave a Reply

