Finnish butter eye buns

P1030125

Voisilmäpulla were one of my favourite discoveries in Helsinki. I decided during my second voisilmäpulla that I would be trying to find a recipe for it.

P1030112

I found a recipe online and it seemed quite straightforward, so I decided to try it out this weekend. For copyright reasons I only post links to recipes (sorry, being a librarian has made me a little paranoid!), but do go check it out.

P1030113

Voisilmäpulla are enriched dough, and as the name implies, there is lots of butter involved. At one point in the recipe you literally knead melted butter in. It doesn’t have very much sugar, though, so it is like a cross between bread and cake. The majority of the sweetness in them comes from the well of butter and sugar that goes in the middle of the pulla. This is quite nice, really, because it means I don’t feel too guilty for eating lots of them!

P1030115

P1030120

P1030123

Given that this is the first time I’ve attempted these, I’m pretty happy with them. I will certainly be attempting them again. Next time I will do a few things differently, though:

  • Add more cardamom – it came through, but not as strongly as I think it should have
  • Add more sugar into the well in the centre, or sprinkle more sugar on the top of the dough before baking
  • Deeper butter wells
  • Figure out why these rolls were dry. They were slightly dry, and I’m not sure why. I may have overbaked them, or added too much flour, or overkneaded them. One thing I really need to work on is identifying what goes wrong with my bakes. Any recommendations for books or websites that might be useful?

P1030128

2 thoughts on “Finnish butter eye buns

  1. I have not tried this yet of course, but I suspect they may be similar to Butterhoernchen. These crescent shaped, soft rolls didn’t have the well with butter in it though. They used come with or without raisins.

    Like

    • I don’t think I’ve tried Butterhörnchen, but I imagine you’re right. These are very soft and I have heard there is a similar roll in Sweden, so it’s probably one of those basics that there are variations of in most Northern European countries.

      Like

Leave a Reply

