Wednesday yarn-along

What I’m reading: Stoner by John Williams

I always try to find books set in Missouri when I’m feeling homesick. I’d seen Williams’ book in a few bookshops recently, proudly proclaiming it’s “the greatest novel you’ve never read.” (Sunday Times) The book is about William Stoner, a farm boy who grows up to become an English professor at University of Missouri (my alma mater) in the 1920s-30s. Not much has happened so far, but it is well-written. I did make the mistake of reading the introduction, so that has spoiled things for me a little bit. Oops!

What I’m knitting: lace scarf

This is a bit of a cheat, because I haven’t picked the final pattern yet. This will be a Christmas present for my sister, so I won’t be sharing too many details. I’m using some beautiful hand-dyed yarn by Rosie’s Moments. I bought at the Bristol Wool Fair last year. It’s baby alpaca & the colorway is fern. It will be gorgeous yarn to work with, so I can’t wait to pick out my pattern and get started. Recommendations welcome!

Linking up with the Yarn-Along.

Leave a Reply

