A flying visit to Germany

All week, my mom has been over in Germany visiting her family. One of the perks of working part-time is that, even in the busiest time of year at work, I was able to take a long weekend to go over for a couple of days. It was lovely! I haven’t seen her since May 2014, and I can’t remember if I’ve ever seen my aunts and mom at the same time. Plus, a good friend who lives in Baria came up and visited me in Lower Saxony as well.

P1030289

I met up with Mom in Heathrow so we could fly over together and spend a bit of extra time together. As much as I love my mom, I did learn one important thing from this experience: don’t spend 9 hours in Heathrow! She needed to nap, and I am pretty paranoid about the amount of time it takes to get between places so we didn’t end up going into London as we thought we might. Next time we definitely will! We both got so restless, even with crafts and books in hand.

P1030331

My friend had never been to Hildesheim (where my grandmother lives) so we spent a bit of time doing touristy stuff. The town is celebrating its 1200th (!!!) anniversary, and there also happened to be a farmer’s market on. Also, the oldest church in town, Hildesheimer Dom, was having an open day so we got to go in for free. The Dom was built in the 11th century. Objects in the museum date from around that time, right up through today, with a particularly large number from the 15-16th centuries. They were all staggerlingly beautiful, and in every room I was blown away by the craftsmanship and detail of objects that are so old. It also included lots of books, which as you can imagine I found very exciting. 🙂

The next day, Oma, Mum, and one of my aunts (the other one had to work) took a steam train up the Brocken, the highest peak in the Harz Mountains. We got incredibly lucky with the weather, so we spent most of our time on the outside train platform. Once we got to the top we were treated to stunning views, as you’d expect at 1142 meters! We finished our trip by going mushroom hunting in the springiest, bounciest forest I’ve ever been in. I’ve never done it before, but my aunt does it often and seems to be a bit of an expert.

P1030299

P1030312

P1030301

P1030363

P1030396

P1030347

P1030417

P1030460

P1030467

P1030463

Leave a Reply

