Pattern review: Lou Lou dress

P1030524

In my quest to learn to sew, I am trying to give myself a range of projects. The vintage pledge in particular has encouraged me to take on some *ahem* overly challenging projects. After 6 months of getting nowhere with a complicated pattern, though, I was ready to work on something a little more straightforward. Enter the Lou Lou dress, a loose-fitting, lightweight A line shift dress with a second fabric peeking out under the main dress.

Charlotte‘s one of my favourite bloggers; I love her emphasis on the natural, attention to detail and her overall style. When she said she was looking for reviewers for her first dress pattern, I was excited that she gave me a chance. As I’d made a few more formal pieces, making the Lou Lou dress seemed like a good opportunity to make something more casual.

This is the first PDF pattern I’ve made. I think getting it printed and put together was the most complicated part of the process, and took a couple of hours even though the markings were quite clear. The dress size is based on bust size, so I made the smallest size. This turned out to be a mistake; I’m an in-between size & should have opted for the the larger size, as the armholes were a little on the tight side.

I used what I think is cotton chambray (sorry, still learning my fabrics) for fabric 1, and a scrap of dark blue cherry blossom fabric which I cut from a charity shop skirt years ago. I used about 1 meter of the chambray and the equivalent amount of lining. I chose to make version B, with a box pleat. P1030274

The construction of the dress was straightforward; in both the main fabric and lining fabric, there are just a front and back piece. Quite a relief after all my complicated patterns! Getting the cherry blossom fabric to be visible was the most difficult part, but Charlotte’s directions are easy to follow and got me through it. The same applies to the shoulders. I’ve not done a box pleat before, either, but I was very happy with how it turned out.

Unfortunately after I finished the dress I realised that the style doesn’t really suit me! Nonetheless, I enjoyed making this dress, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes  loose-fitting clothes. I shall be keeping mine & wearing it on lazy mornings in the garden (in theory, when I actually get one!).

P1030521

 

Leave a Reply

