Finished: Vogue 5096

P1030791     Ta-da! The button-back blouse inspired by my Helsinki charity shop buttons is done, and I am very pleased to say that it looks just like I imagined it. I’ve already worn it twice. Can you tell I’m a little in love? Completing another item for the Vintage Pledge is a great feeling as well.P1030798

Any credit for success goes to the pattern. It was surprisingly easy to follow, with the exception of the sleeves. Those gathers were not intended, though luckily they look okay. The pattern says you should “shrink the fabric to fit” and I just couldn’t figure out what that meant. Do you know?

Vogue 5096 / Vintage 60s Sewing Pattern / Blouse Shirt Top / Size 16 Bust 36P1030767

The final blouse fits just like I wanted it to, is very comfortable, and I think it looks quite elegant. I was shocked that the sleeves are exactly the same length as the hem of the body. (I know you can’t tell in these photos, but that’s because I’d been moving around a lot & they were a bit wrinkled.) My favourite detail in the pattern is the tiny little darts in the sleeves. Beautiful! The buttons are of course the star of the show, and I’m really pleased with how they look even if my bound buttonholes are terrible! For the body I used white linen found in the Birmingham Rag Market for £3.50/metre. I also lined the front using basic acetate lining, stitched in by hand so it is nice & tidy. This is especially good because I forgot to zigzag my edges & they are not particularly pretty.

P1030764

P1030772

P1030768
I am ludicrously proud of this seam.

 

Leave a Reply

