Christmas spirit

P1030814.JPGI’ve been late to Christmas cheer this year. Life has been crazy, meaning I’ve also been exhausted & poorly. Things are starting to settle, though, and I’ve also been making a conscious effort to surround myself with happy things. Last week, for example I read Close Encounters of the Furred Kind, which made me laugh.

Feeling more lighthearted in general has finally let me feel festive. Wrapping up my gift for the Thrifty Christmas Gift Swap definitely helped. This weekend has also been devoted to making Christmas presents, namely knitted dinosaurs! While I cleaned and baked my vanilla kipferl this morning, I put on Sufjan Stevens and as I write this post I’m watching Serendipity. It may be the cheesiest Christmas romcom ever, but I’m a sucker for John Cusack and have no shame. Also, how can you go wrong with a film whose title is inspired by a chocolate restaurant?

I am also feeling pretty smug about the Secret Santa present I bought yesterday. Work’s doing an anonymous gift exchange (i.e. bring a gift, take a gift) this year and I found this lovely copy of The Body in the Library. How can it go wrong in a swap for librarians?

Are you feeling Christmassy yet? Has it been a struggle for you this year, too, or is it just me?

P1030809.JPG

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

