Back in the yarn-along

Confession: I haven’t made anything this year. At all. That’s why I haven’t been blogging about my makes. When I stop and think about it, it’s no wonder I’ve been so anxious for the past few months. I just haven’t felt like I’ve had time, although I’ve been reading loads instead.P1040186.JPG

Anyway, I’ve finally gotten back into knitting. I ordered Kate Davies’ latest book, Buachaille, and am making the Kokkeluri mittens. By the time they’re finished it’ll probably be too late for this year, but I’m still excited. I bought the yarn in America not long after I learned to knit & it’s been in my stash ever since. It’s 65% and 35% nettle! It’s really soft, though, and perfect for this pattern.

P1040180.JPG

I’m currently reading In the Beginning by Chaim Potok. Potok’s an overlooked author, but I do love his books. I felt obliged to buy this one when I found it for 25p in a charity shop. I hadn’t heard of it, but like most of his books it centers around a young Jewish boy, the son of immigrants, growing up in New York. Potok is very good at making you care about characters and really pulling you into a book. In the Beginning happens over a span of 10 years or so, and includes the duration of World War II (not just America’s entrance into it, either). It is about faith and love and family and pain and hope. It’s incredibly moving, especially when you start to think about what is still happening in regard to religious persecution.

Have you been making time to craft this year? Or have you read anything exceptional so far this year?

Linking up with the Yarn Along.

7 thoughts on “Back in the yarn-along

  1. I discovered Kate Davies’ work quite recently. I bought her book “Yokes” while visiting Edinburgh in January. The first part of the book tells the story of the ‘yoke’ heritage. It’s very interesting. Her patterns are lovely. Hopefully I will get to knit one of her lovely sweaters soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

