Sci fi, Blue Willow, and more plans

Happy Wednesday! I’m always surprised when Wednesday arrives; the week always seems to pass quicker than I expect.

P1040409.JPG

At the moment, I’m reading The Dreams Our Stuff is Made Of. It’s very interesting, as you’d expect, but not quite what I expected it to be. At times, I’ve found the author’s political opinings really obnoxious (particularly when they don’t match up with my views/experiences), but he does seem to be cynical and misanthropic toward all parties. I am going to wait until I’ve finished the whole thing before I pass judgment.

I ordered the white yarn for my Blue Willow jumper tonight, but I already had this blue yarn in my stash so I’ll be using it. I don’t know when I start, but as I’m going home in 2 weeks and will have lots of knitting time, it’ll definitely be before then.

I’m also starting a super-secret project for a friend’s baby. I can’t share any details, unfortunately, but suffice it to say it will be extremely adorable.

Speaking of presents, do you have any ideas for great wedding presents? I always like making personal presents, but am struggling to think of ideas for a friend who’s getting married at the end of May. Maybe a heart-shaped piece of string art, taking inspiration from Flossie Teacakes? Or an embroidered cushion?

Linking up with the Yarn Along – feel free to leave a comment to say what you’re making or reading!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Sci fi, Blue Willow, and more plans

    • Yes, the author does make the point that there are a lot of extremes in the genre. I guess that proves his thesis, though, because the polarities described are really the kind of polarities now reflected in American politics (and others, but especially American). *ends polemic* Definitely a thought-provoking book if nothing else.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Yarn Along: the one with yet more sci fi | Pastry & purls

Leave a Reply

