Harry Potter & casting on

With my upcoming visit to Harry Potter World (I mean Warner Brothers Studios, sorry, sorry!), it’s an ideal time to reread Harry Potter. At the moment I’m on Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets and loving it. I’d forgotten how funny it is! Sadly, I don’t think I’ll have time to reread them all before my trip home next week. I’m going for the next 2 1/2 weeks, and can’t really take them all with me. 😦 I’m currently picking out  mammoth novel to take instead.

P1040436

The book cover in the photo was a birthday gift from my thoughtful colleagues; we had a conversation a couple of months ago about how easy it is for books to get wrecked in our purses/handbags/tote bags. I’ve never used a book cover before, but I like that I now have less anxiety about what’s going to happen to my book once it’s in my bag.

In the world of knitting, I’m about to cast on for my Blue Willow jumper. I ordered Drops BabyAlpaca Silk 4 ply from Wool Warehouse, as I’d heard lots of good things about them. I chose to use Powder as pure white doesn’t necessarily suit me, and the yarn arrived the next day, hooray! My choice of off-white means the jumper will probably look less authentic, or maybe just like slightly tea-stained Blue Willow cups. I am okay with that. This is the ideal project for a long holiday, so I’m looking forward to sharing my progress. So far I’ve already discovered that the yarn I’ve ordered is (strangely) thinner than the original yarn, so I’ve had to go down a needle size. Fingers crossed this doesn’t all go wrong…

Linking up with Ginny’s Yarn-Along – go visit her blog for more inspiration. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter & casting on”

  1. How perfectly lovely. I love your book cover. What happens to my books in bag is just wrong and I need to fix that. Your blog is interesting and a joy to read. Thanks for writing. Katie x

    Like

Leave a Reply

