St. Louis Botanical Gardens

P1040620.JPG

My family didn’t take vacations when I was growing up. But at least once a year, we’d drive the 3 hours to the nearest botanical garden, Missouri Botanical Garden in St. Louis. I guess this is pretty normal for a horticulturist. 🙂 I think it’s one of the best in the U.S. It’s 79 acres, and features an exceptional temperate house and a 14 acre Japanese garden. It also has an educational remit, so it has a wide program of events throughout the year. Plus, it also has a world-class horticultural library.

As my mom had to pick R & I up from St. Louis after our time in Chicago,  we went for an afternoon out in the garden. One of the best things about gardens is that every time you go you discover something new. Previously I’ve seen the collections of roses, day-lilies, and peonies. This time the irises were in bloom, and my mom and I spent ages admiring the different varieties. I took so many pictures, but thought I’d restrain myself and share a variety of sights instead. I hope you enjoy them.

P1040716.JPG

P1040733.JPG

One of the mausoleums near the Henry Shaw’s house.

P1040672.JPGP1040676.JPGP1040696.JPG

P1040705.JPG

Peony pollen.

P1040730.JPG

Dogwood.

P1040755.JPG

Iris. Composition inspired by O’Keeffe:

 

P1040771.JPGP1040739.JPGP1040635.JPG

 

One thought on “St. Louis Botanical Gardens

  1. You’ve got me dying to go to the Botanical Gardens now. I’m sad to have missed the peonies, but after reading this yesterday, I was looking into the roses and they should be really nice right now, assuming that it doesn’t get too hot around here too soon. But I think it is going to be 100+ F this weekend, so maybe no luck. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

