5 happy things

P1050760

Sometimes I struggle to be positive. Sometimes I can’t help comparing myself to friends, colleagues, and random people on the internet, and *surprise* I am always the worst. But these feelings are nothing new for me, and they’ve always passed, so I’m willing that to happen again. It’s just frustrating because I thought I’d finally conquered them. Anyway, I know life isn’t really terrible. Clearly it’s just time to reflect again, and deliberately think about the good things instead of the bad. There have been lots of good things recently. So here goes:

P1050758

  • It’s late spring, and there are flowers everywhere. Wildflowers are so beautiful that I am always stopping to look at them.
  • I won a sponsored place to a work conference in July. It’s in Brighton! I’ve never been, and am going to go a couple of days early so I can explore.
  • We finally have a lawn mower. I know this doesn’t sound exciting, but trust me, it is. Our lawn looks terrible, and this will make such a big difference.
  • R will be back home on Monday. He’s been away for work for a couple of weeks. I like alone time, but I’m definitely ready for him to be back now. Life’s just more fun when he’s here.
  • A friend has just had her second baby. We haven’t met him yet, but he was premature, so we’re just glad he’s now home with the rest of the family. I haven’t decided what to make him yet, but I have a pattern for a very cute knitted rabbit which I’m leaning toward.

I’d love to hear your happy things, too!

7 thoughts on “5 happy things”

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting, it’s always nice to meet me bloggers.
    I hope you’re feeling more positive, down days (or weeks) are really tough, so I hope it’s passed.
    I love the flowers and colours of spring, the promise of summer is always welcome.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing! I also think that the best way to feel better is to enjoy small things in life. It shouldn’t always be grand. I’m enjoying a great book, “The architect’s apprentice”. It’s been a long time I’d read something that would keep me 100% focused. It brings a lot of joy πŸ™‚ Another happy thing is that I made a tasty rhubarb pie. It was my first attempt and it made me especially proud πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Yum, pie! πŸ™‚ I will be interested in hearing what you think of “The Architect’s Apprentice”. I see it on bookshelves at work quite often and always think it looks really interesting, but haven’t picked it up yet.

      Like

      1. Finally, I finished reading “The Architect’s Apprentice”:) What can I say – it was quite a journey. I was quite hooked up to the book – there are a lot of adventures, dangers and developments around the main character. Each chapter is a short story of its own. The story is told in a little bit fairy-tale manner, which gives it a certain charm. That being said, I felt at times that there is too much stuff going on, and closer to the end of the book, when references were made to previous happenings, I didn’t remember some of them. Despite those mixed feelings, I think I would still recommend this book πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. Your blog is certainly one of the happy things in my life! Other than that, making the Dean’s list and enjoying the summer fruits and veggies. Completely agree about the wildflowers, too. Such wonderment that we get to enjoy for a short time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

