In progress: vintage dress

Ages ago, I wrote about starting on my next sewing project: another 60s dress, this time with sleeves, made out of a pair of vintage curtains. A colleague’s wedding is coming up in a couple of weeks, so I’m going to make sure I get it done in time for that. I just need to attach the skirt to the bodice and insert the zip now. Once it’s done, I’ll be sure to share some photos of it out and about. But in the meantime, here are some photos of its construction.

So that’s what’s happening in my sewing room. (No, not a real one!) Do you have any long term projects on the go?

P1050860.JPGP1040346.JPGP1040347.JPGP1050858.JPGP1050861.JPG

PS I still haven’t blogged about the new house, but one of the things I’m loving about it is how much softer the light is. Much easier to get decent pictures!

 

3 thoughts on “In progress: vintage dress”

  1. That looks nice! Better as a dress than a pair of curtains I’d say.
    I have a patchwork quilt on the go that needs finishing. It took my years to sew all the hexagons together (by hand) and now I need to transform it into an actual quilt, but I’m terrified for ruining it!

    Like

  2. Such a beautiful dress! Take a picture of yourself in it at the wedding. Also, I am DYING to see pictures of your new house. Perhaps a home tour blog post is in order someday? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

