Thanksgiving 2016

Hello, everyone. Thanks for sticking around! I haven’t been up to much recently, hence the lack of posts.

This was an extra special Thanksgiving, as it’s the first one in our new home. While I’m really grateful to be a homeowner, if I’m honest I still don’t love our house & am doing as much as I can to make it feel like a home. Memories are a huge part of that. I decided that this year I’d have a bigger Thanksgiving than usual, and invited about 20 people. 16 accepted, eek! On top of that, 3 were vegetarians, 1 was vegan, and there were 5 kids ranging from newborns to an 8-year-old. So, yeah, it was a busy one. I think everyone enjoyed themselves in the end, though. The kids definitely did! A few people were poorly, unfortunately, so it was all a little easier than expected logistically, though obviously I did really hosted this so I could spend time with all our friends at once.

As always, for me the emphasis was on getting the food ready, while R tends to take over hosting duties (at least at first). This year, the menu was:

I have to say I was particularly impressed with the bread rolls, which used almond milk instead of normal milk. They were incredibly fluffy and tasty, and as I made the dough in my bread machine they were also stress-free.

p1070417

We finished off the meal with some hometown port. The building on this label is where R & I got married! It’s a bit lighter than traditional port, but it is very delicious.

p1070429

I also used the opportunity to gather some foliage and use another new-to-me vase (vintage 50s German, I believe). It looked lovely, if I do say so myself. p1070425

And there were plenty of leftovers, which I am convinced is one of the best parts of Thanksgiving. I can’t believe how tidy I managed to get the fridge, though!

p1070431

Have you had any gatherings with friends recently?

5 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2016

  1. Wow, cooking for so many people, that’s so impressive 🙂 There is no such thing as thanksgiving in Germany and Christmas is usually celebrated with close family only (at least in my family) so I never had the opportunity to cook for a larger group of people but the thought of doing that really scares me a bit if I am honest. Great to hear that you managed this so well – hope you had nice holidays!

    Like

    • I think you’re right to say that Christmas is more traditionally a small family event in Germany (at least based on those I’ve talked to about it). We did all the food for our wedding (40 people), too, but that was a bit different as it was more snack-type food and I had lots of help. I was proud of myself for managing this reasonably well, but I won’t be doing it again!

      Like

  2. Happy (belated) Thanksgiving! And wow, cooking for 16, when some are vegan and veggie and some are not, is no mean feat – well done!

    Like

    • Thank you! I just made everything vegan (apart from the turkey). I don’t think anyone really noticed, and the only thing I would’ve done differently is used a lot of butter & bacon. It was nice to see how grateful the vegan was that she didn’t have to worry about what she was eating.

      Like

  3. Pingback: November – blah blah blah  | Home, make, be

Leave a Reply

