Wednesday yarn along: the one with a mystery knit

P1070438.JPGWhat I’m reading: Manja, by Anna Gmeyner

“These are difficult times to grow up in,” Heidemann said as they walk towards [the river].

“More difficult than yours?”

“Yes.”

“Perhaps,” Heidemann went on – asking a question only possible because of their new equality – “perhaps we’ve been wrong about many things? Could being a decent human just be a liberal’s daydream? Perhaps Might is Right has always ruled the world.”

I finished this book today. It’s the story of 5 children growing up in 1920s-30s Germany, and it is every bit as heartbreaking as you’d expect, especially because it was published in 1938. I mean that in the best possible way. I think this should be required reading for every high school student, and I really can’t believe I hadn’t heard of this (I just happened to pick it up at a charity shop). I gave it 4.75 stars out of 5 on Goodreads, only because the message is the tiniest bit heavy-handed at times. I do wonder whether some of that could be down to the translation, though, as it was originally written in German. Anyway, I couldn’t recommend this book more.

What I’m knitting: a green and grey present

I can’t share any details of this as it’s a present, but as you can see, it’s very green. I’m really enjoying this knit, as it’s very quick and pretty.

Are you reading anything good this week? Have you started making any presents? If you want to see what others are up to, have a look at Ginny’s Yarn Along page.

5 thoughts on “Wednesday yarn along: the one with a mystery knit”

  1. Sounds an intriguing book, I’ve been trying not to add anymore to my want-to-read pile but this one might have to go on it.
    Intrigued to see what you’re knitting, I love the colour!

    Like

Leave a Reply

