A little reflection and a lot to look forward to

p1070607

Happy New Year, dear readers! I hope you had a wonderful holiday season. I’m sorry this post is so late, but a course I’m doing at work has an assignment due in shortly & I’ve been panicking/working on that instead of thinking about Pastry & Purls. I assure you, I’d much prefer to be thinking about the blog!

2016 was a terrible year for me, both on a personal and larger level. I got caught up in the stress of home ownership, experienced grief for the first time, humiliated myself at an interview for my dream job, and, as an EU & US citizen living in the UK, had an awful lot to worry about. Seeing people who don’t share my values – not just my political opinion, but my fundamental values like honesty and willingness to understand/work with others to make the world a better place – elected to positions of power, and having to see their horrid smug faces all the time, is incredibly demoralising.

Anyway, onwards & upwards, right? 2016 was also the year when I finally realised that I finally have close friends in the UK. I moved here in 2008, and the hardest part by far has been feeling lonely and isolated at times. Though I’ve been with R most of the time I’ve lived here and gotten to know his (totally lovely) friends, it’s not really quite the same as having friends you’ve gotten to know yourself. For years, I didn’t feel like anyone else in the UK really understood me or cared about me. Well, I was proved wrong in 2016. I was so touched by all the support I had throughout the year, in spite of being a rubbish friend myself.

I am hoping that 2017 will bring better things. While, like a lot of people, I don’t like setting specific resolutions, there are a lot of things I’d like to do this year. Or at least pay more attention to, I suppose. I’d like to work on being less anxious and embracing the moment. I’d like to make stuff – last year was just not a creative year for me, and I definitely feel there’s a link between that and my low mood throughout the year. I’d love to improve my embroidery skills, and design a knit myself. I’d like to make the allotment a success, by which I just mean not let it get totally covered in weeds & fail to plant seeds like I did this year (that’s why there weren’t any posts about it in 2016. Trust me, it was appalling.). I want to work on making our house feel like home. We moved in just over a year ago, and even then I had misgivings about whether it was the right house for us. It has proven to be the sensible choice I thought it would be, but at the moment I still don’t feel filled with happiness when I see it as I cycle up the road. Hopefully I’ll be able to change that attitude this year.

So that’s what I’m hoping to do this year. I’ve seen some people picking words to describe the year they’d like. I guess mine would be home & creativity. Do you have any?

3 thoughts on “A little reflection and a lot to look forward to

  1. It’s nice to hear that you’ve made some friends you can rely on, friends are so important, I’d be lost without mine.
    I think the word for 2017 is going to be change – home improvement, a new logo and website for work, a healthier me – not necessarily through exercise but through self care, and all the little changes that make life better. Last year I did a lot of thinking, a lot of analysing, made a lot of decisions about life. Now I just have to make it all happen!
    Here’s to a happy, positive 2017 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

