5 happy things – the one with buds of spring

It’s been a little while since I’ve done one of these lists. Actually, it’s been a little while since I posted on here. Things are pretty busy at the moment. I’m working on my final module for a PG Certificate, which involves a lot more work than previous modules, and I’m gathering all my documents for my Permanent Residency application (and being grateful to my mom, yet again, for her German citizenship so I didn’t have to worry about this until now, because it is really stressful), there’s lots to think about in regard to the allotment, and we’ve got plans for house stuff (bookshelves, at last!).

But in spite of all this, I have been reasonably content. There have been lots of little things to make me happy. Here are five of them.

  • Daffodils

I planted some daffodils in our front garden late fall, but hadn’t seen any sign of them. I was already starting to assume they just hadn’t made it through the winter for some reason. But on Saturday morning, there they were! Granted, they’re still tiny, but it’s something to look forward to.p1080229

  • Local bookshops

Cheltenham didn’t have an independent bookshop when I moved here, but a couple of years ago The Suffolk Anthology opened. It’s a lovely shop, with a carefully chosen selection of books. They also sell tea & coffee & cake. I stopped by on Saturday & left with Exchanging Hats, a book of paintings by Elizabeth Bishop. It was there when I visited late last year, and I didn’t buy it. The fact that it was still there tells me it was fate. Right?

p1080239p1080238p1080237

  • Morning cycles in the daylight

I love my morning  bike ride to the train station. But it is so much better now that it’s light when I leave the house.

  • More books

Oops, I bought some more books. This is my favorite illustration from one of them, 365 Penguins.

p1080247p1080246

  • Time with R

I do think Valentine’s Day is a load of rubbish, but it was nice to have an excuse to go out during the week. We are both prone to inertia & very rarely do. A Tuesday evening out broke up the week & made it fly by.

How are things going for you at the moment?

2 thoughts on “5 happy things – the one with buds of spring

Leave a Reply

