January sunshine in the 5 Valleys

This post is very overdue. These pictures are from when my mom visited back in January, right after my Oma’s burial. As always in January, the weather was quite variable so we stayed close to home. We visited Winchcombe, a lovely Cotswold village. Unfortunately it was cold and grey that day, and I didn’t get any good pictures.

When we visited Stroud and Painswick a few days later, though, the weather was glorious. I highly recommend a visit to the 5 Valleys if you’ve never been. The 5 Valleys are an area on the edge of the Cotswolds, and are one of my absolute favourite places in the world. I think you can see why from these pictures. Stroud is also a lovely town, well known for its farmers’ market. We bought some local seeds there – I’m going to be growing purple dwarf beans this year! Painswick is quite nearby, a tiny little quintessential Cotswold village which is home to a Rococo Garden. The snowdrops were just starting to peek out, so we visited there, too. On the way, we went past an inscription by Eric Gill, which I got very excited about! All in all, it was a wonderful day, and left me wanting to move to Stroud (which I think every time I visit, actually). I hope you’ll enjoy these pictures as much as I enjoyed taking them.

View from the top of the Rococo Gardens.

p1080020

Stroud Farmers’ Market.

p1080025

Painswick

p1080032

An engraving by Eric Gill!

p1080061

Fern.

p1080069

Rococo Garden.

p1080152

Sadly, this tea room was closed. It has a great sign, though!

p1080075

p1080104

p1080109

p1080111

p1080121

p1080148

p1080157

This was in the Patchwork Mouse, a sweet little cafe in Painswick. It was made by Laura Mirjami: http://mirjamidesign.com/.

 

Save

One thought on “January sunshine in the 5 Valleys

Leave a Reply

