Yarnalong: Audrey update

I’ve made a fair bit of progress on Audrey in Unst over the past couple of weeks. The front is done, and I’m now working on the back. Then it’ll just be the sleeves & button band to go. I’m loving that it’s all one piece, with no seams at all. I have to say, though, that I don’t think I like knitting bottom up. I miss being able to try it on as I go, and am worried the length won’t be right. I’ve done my best to try to make an educated guess, but there’s really no way to know.

As for reading, I am still reading Alice Munro’s short stories, but in the meantime I’ve also reread Fahrenheit 451. It has a timely message about the importance of freedom of speech, and Bradbury’s one of my favorite authors. I have to admit this isn’t my favorite of his books, though. Given that Bradbury was also a screenwriter, I was surprised to realize on rereading that this isn’t a particularly fast-paced book. Most of the characterization was really successful, but I never really bought into Beatty, one of the key characters. I also felt it leaned toward the didactic, with characters using lots of long speeches to convey the message of the book rather than showing me values via dialogue and plot. I’m just being picky, though. It’s certainly a classic worth reading if you haven’t yet.

I know I’m a bit late, but I’m linking up with Ginny’s Yarn Along. Pop along and see what others are reading & knitting. I’d love to hear what you’re working on, too.

Leave a Reply

