5 happy things – the one with a bike basket

Well, this week has flown by! I had every intention of writing a post about Wonderwool, but that hasn’t happened just yet as I unexpectedly ended up working a couple of late shifts at work. I will get around to it soon, though.

In the meantime, here’s a recap of a few of the little happy things that are going on in my life at the moment.

P1080586

  • Finally attaching my new bike basket

I know this isn’t the most beautiful of bike baskets, but I’m nothing if not practical, and this one looked easier to manage than a pretty wicker basket. It was a birthday present (that I asked for!) from R, and I’m really happy with it so far. I usually do our weekly shop using a shopping trolley as the nearest store is really too far to carry a decent amount of groceries back from comfortably. Last week I was finally able to do it on the bike, though! It was very exciting, and I’m looking forward to continuing to do so.

  • My reserved book arriving at the library

I reserved Lincoln in the Bardo as soon as I heard about it, but I was still fourth in the queue, so have had to wait ages for it. I can’t wait to get started!

P1080600

  • Time outside with PippaP1080592P1080585
  • A provisional driving licence (almost)

It looks like I’m on track to get my provisional driving licence. I had to send in my passport and it’s now been returned with a letter say the licence should arrive in a couple of weeks. Driving is really not my thing, and we’ve no plans to buy a car yet, but for a whole host of reasons (both personal and professional) it makes sense for me to be able to drive here if necessary. I’m apprehensive about lessons, but excited to find out how it feels to be behind the wheel in the UK.

 

  • Elderflower

I spotted the first elderflower blossom of the year this week! Somehow that makes it feel more like summer is coming.

Edit:

This post is linked up with Suzy’s Five Things That Made Me Happy This Weekย and also partially inspired by Miss Pond’s Five Happy Things, if you’d like to go read other people’s happy stuff.

13 thoughts on “5 happy things – the one with a bike basket”

  1. I’ve been hearing a lot about that book. I will be curious to hear what you think of it.

    I love all the elderflower drinks in the U.K. I wish it was a thing here. I am not sure I would recognize elderflower if I saw it growing but then, I am not too good with plants.

    Like

    1. I will be sure to post a review, then.

      Elderflower is delicious, isn’t it? I don’t know why it’s not a thing in the U.S. Are you able to identify elderberries? It’s the same plant, just in an earlier stage. They tend to grow as bushes rather than trees in the U.S.

      Like

  2. That bike basket looks fabulous! It’s surely a lot more practical than one of the fashionable pretty wicker baskets! Good luck with your provisional driving licence. I can understand your apprehension, but I’m sure you’ll do just fine. You have obviously been driving on the right hand side before, so it’ll be an adjustment, of course, but with a little practice, it should all go well!

    Like

  3. I love when something as simple and practical as being able to carry the shopping home on your bike can make such a positive difference to our lives! Also, how cute is it that cats just absolutely revel in the outdoors? Juno is obsessed with a sunny day! Congrats on the provisional too. And thanks for joining in with my link up ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks for organizing it! I was writing these posts & reading your blog anyway (I really enjoy it, even if I don’t often comment), so it seemed a natural thing to do. x

      Like

  4. I used to do the grocery shopping shop on my bike before we moved, I really enjoyed it. It meant I couldnโ€™t spend too much and only bought what we needed – a great way to enforce being thrifty!

    Elderflowers are supposed to denote the arrival of spring! I canโ€™t wait for mine to flower (and not just because Iโ€™m planning on making elderflower gin!), itโ€™s so pretty, and I could do with a little sunshine.

    Hope youโ€™re enjoying your new book, and good luck with driving lessons.

    Like

    1. Yes, I find it definitely helps with spending. I might steal your idea of elderflower gin! I usually make cordial, but, well, elderflower gin sounds delicious. I am going to blame my lack of awareness of what elderflower denotes on not being British! Though it does seem a bit late for spring to be starting to me! Maybe that’s because my birthday’s in early April & I couldn’t bear the thought of it being in winter. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. Look at how happy Pippa is outside in the sun! My very favourite thing at the moment is watching Missy in the garden, she just loves pottering around looking at birds, leaves and walls(!), chasing insects, and sunbathing.

    Like

  6. The bike basket looks great and I’m sure it will make a big difference to shopping (and life) It’s always good to get outside too. Hope you’re having a good week. Love bec xx ps I nipped over from suzy – from the fringe link up ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Hello! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for popping over. Your blog has reminded me I should really acknowledge Suzy & Miss Pond, as I also read both their blogs. Expect an amended version of this post soon… x

      Like

      1. ๐Ÿ™‚ always good to find a new blog to read – Suzy and Emma both write interesting blogs ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve known Emma IRL for about five years now (met v randomly in Manchester) and Suzy lives literally around the corner from me but we’ve not yet met up – we have a plan for a cuppa and cake ๐Ÿ™‚ hope you’re having a brill week. Love bec xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

