5 happy things

Between the General Election, a whole lot of work stress, and a few things happening in my family life, it’s been a stressful couple of weeks, and I’ve definitely found myself feeling overwhelmed. I keep telling myself it will calm down soon, but in reality that’s not due to happen until late July! It’ll be here before I know it, right?

But in the meantime, as always I’ve found it helpful to think about the positive things happening in my life right now.

  • p1080775.jpgPermanent residency

I’m sure I mentioned how nervous I was about applying for permanent residency here in the UK. Though I’m American, I also have a German passport which has allowed me to live and work here for the past 8/9 years. A couple of weeks ago, I received my permanent residency card in the post! It was such a relief with all the uncertainty here at the moment. I do have plans to write a post about the process, so stay tuned if you’re interested in that kind of thing.

  • Organ donation

I also got my provisional licence last week. I’m not classing that as a happy thing just yet as my first lesson didn’t go particularly well. But what is a happy thing is that I also got my organ donation card along with it! It’s such an important thing to do, and I honestly struggle to understand why anyone wouldn’t sign up to do it. At least two people I know directly have benefitted from organ donation – my nearly-stepmother, who’s had a pancreas transplant and is hoping for a kidney transplant, and the little girl I used to look after as an au pair, who needed a liver transplant last year at 14. Now I just need to get over my weird relationship with blood so I can donate that regularly…I do tend to pass out when I have blood taken, so I don’t donate although I feel terribly guilty for not doing it!

  • Strawberries

It’s strawberry season, yay! Seasonal eating is a wonderful thing for many reasons. Of course there are environmental benefits, but I admit my interest in seasonal eating is pure gluttony – everything just tastes so much better when it’s in season. There are a few strawberries at the allotment, but British strawberries are also plentiful in shops at the moment.

  • R’s willingness to pick up my slack in the house

Confession: I am awful at housework. I hate it. I will put it off as long as possible. This is especially true for laundry and dishes. I am so glad R does this kind of stuff for us without ever complaining about it. I dread to think what our house would look like…

  • Springwatch

I don’t always watch Springwatch, but I have been this year, and absolutely loving it! All those cute animals! I particularly loved the pine martens this week. I keep squeeing and sighing. It’s also extra nice this year, because it’s being filmed about 30 miles from where I live.

What are the good things happening in your life at the moment?

8 thoughts on “5 happy things

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve been having a hard time lately. As the saying goes… chin up duck 🙂 I feel the same about organ donation, I won’t need them when I’ve gone but someone else might. Enjoy your strawberries. x

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your permanent residency visa!! I’m gearing up to submit my application for my initial settlement visa (I’m moving over from the US later this summer) and I’m very nervous about it as well. Hope things are on an upward spring for you from here on out!

    Like

    • Thanks. 🙂 Oh, good luck! I wondered if you were working on that. I am sure you will be fine; they’re quite strict about people matching the criteria (e.g. sponsor’s income), but as long as you meet them I think it’s more of a waiting game than anything else.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great news on your permanent residency, although a bit of card doesn’t seem to be fitting for such an important document.
    I do try to give blood but it feels like they make it harder each time I go, I’ve turned up only to be turned away for so many silly reasons.
    Enjoy the strawberries, and I hope things settle down soon.

    Like

    • I know, it looks so old-fashioned! I secretly hoped that when I moved here I wouldn’t be allowed to – I’m not allowed to in the U.S. because I lived in Germany during a period there was hoof and mouth disease – and was a little sad to realize that I now have to feel guilty about not doing it!

      Like

  4. Excellent news on the permanent residency! I heard so many nightmare stories post-Brexit of EU citizens who’d lived here for years being turned down, so it’s really good to know yours is sorted.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Finishing Point – fiber and sustenance

Leave a Reply

