Cornwall

At the beginning of July, we had a visit from my German aunt and cousin. My aunt had particularly mentioned Cornwall, and as we’d never been (it’s trickier to get there, particularly the coast, when you don’t drive) we did our best to encourage this plan. 🙂 Another friend from Germany also ended up coming, so it was a brilliant bilingual holiday!

We ended up renting a cottage near Tintagel and going for a brief 3 days.  It was absolutely fantastic, though. The weather held out, with no rain and a reasonable amount of sunshine. The cottage was just 3 fields away from the coastal path & 15 minutes to a beach on either side, so a lot of our time was spent right on the coast. It was so relaxing.

P1080884

P1080850

I was pretty in love with the gorgeous herringbone stone walls, probably made from local stone as there were a lot of quarries in this area historically.

P1080851P1080856

Look at me, sitting on a gate at 21 weeks pregnant like a responsible mother-to-be.

P1080862P1080895

And of course there had to be a cream tea. The scones were still warm – perfect. We also ate a lot of ice cream while we were there. The best was R’s raspberry ripple. I’m still kicking myself for not going back to get some for myself.

P1080902P1080918

I was incredibly impressed by the water. The color & clarity were stunning. It was quite cloudy when I took this, believe it or not.

P1090118

It also happened to be the fourth of July while we were there, so we used the cottage’s grill to have a barbecue. Burgers, hot dogs, and halloumi for the veggie friend who had also come with us.

P1090124P1090156

Our trip ended with this perfect sunset. As you can imagine, I’m pretty desperate to go back soon.

I also persuaded my aunt to go to the Eden Project, but I’ve decided that deserves its own post.

Have you been to Cornwall? Where should we go next time?

2 thoughts on “Cornwall”

  1. Those herringbone stone walls are amazing. I’ve never seen anything like them. Cornwall has been on my list of places I would like to visit forever and ever. Since that list is pretty much endless, I don’t know if I will ever make it there but I live in hope. I’m glad you had such a nice time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

