Eden Project

It’s been a month since my visit to the Eden Project, but I still wanted to share some of my favorite pictures and a few thoughts on it as it is quite a unique spot. Unfortunately I was only there for about 5 hours rather than a whole day due to travel & lack of a  clear plan. I think that did have a big impact on my experience there, in that we only had time to go around the biomes rather than the whole of the site.

I had high expectations for the Eden Project, perhaps unreasonable ones. I saw Tim Smit speak once & he was so engaging & enthusiastic that I was completely sold & immediately wanted to go visit. The trouble was that I was thinking of it as a garden, whereas actually there is a lot more to it. Having visited it, my impression is that the Eden Project is primarily a sustainability education, with the garden as a vehicle for that mission. And from that  point of view, it’s brilliant! The transformation of landscape is absolutely breath-taking & deserves to be celebrated. But I have to be honest – as a garden, I was a little disappointed. It’s only fair to say that I have been lucky to visit a lot of incredible botanical gardens, though, and that is what I went in expecting. And that’s just not what the Eden Project is. There was still so much that I loved, though! It’s certainly worth a visit, but I think I would only go back with children.

P1080961
These amazing statues were at the entrance. One is driftwood; the other bronze.

P1080964

P1080977
My favorite parts were the ones that focused on edible gardens, like this one near the outside dining area. It was so beautiful!
P1080979
Mediterranean biome.
P1080985
Jacaranda tree – this smelled incredible!
P1090004
Kangaroo paw. I’d never seen these before, but they were very cool.
P1090007
I loved this way of growing tomatoes.
P1090026
Such a lovely climber! Sollya heterophylla. Apparently it won’t grow in normal English climates. 😦
P1090070
The smelliest flower in the world (when in bloom).

P1090082

P1090084
The lookout. I was desperate to go up, but it had just closed as it was too hot/humid up there.

P1090097

P1090103
Cashew!

 

3 thoughts on “Eden Project”

  1. uhm, those are cucumbers, not tomatoes??
    though commercially tomatoes are grown tied to a string suspended from above also.
    For some weird reason, this makes me think of scifi: living on the moon or some other planet inside domes….

    Like

  2. I last visited the Eden project a few years ago and I remember enjoying the edible garden and tropical biome the most (can’t remember its exact name). The transformation of the landscape is pretty amazing when you look at photos of the area before the Eden Project.

    Like

Leave a Reply

