FO: vintage bedroom curtains

P1090769

Way back in August 2016, I included some beautiful 1960s barkcloth in a 5 happy things post. I came across it in a shop called Domestic Science. It was expensive at £20 per meter, but in the end I couldn’t resist. The plan was to make us a pair of bedroom curtains.

P1060611

The reality was that to comfortably make a pair of curtains I needed 6 meters, and there were only just over 5 meters of fabric left on the bolt. Therefore, cutting them was nervewracking & I wasn’t brave enough to do it until this summer. Mismeasuring could be disastrous as there was no possible way of getting more fabric if I cut it wrong.

P1090574

Pippa didn’t mind, as it seemed to be her favorite cushion for a while. She was very keen to be involved with making it. She supervised when I finally took the plunge and cut the fabric. I cut it into 3 lengths, then sewed the 3 panels together, then cut them in half to create the two panels. She also oversaw this. (Yes, my house was a disaster. No apologies; sometimes that’s what real life looks like.)

P1080721P1080716

I ordered thermal curtain lining online, and followed a few different online tutorials for sewing lined curtains. This one was particularly clear to me.

The pattern matching in the final product isn’t amazing, but overall it isn’t that noticeable at first. It was a necessity given the scarcity of fabric. Besides, as it’s in our bedroom I don’t think it really matters very much.  We are loving having something cheerful to wake up to. It’s also made a huge difference to how the room feels – it finally feels a little more like home.

P1090773

2 thoughts on “FO: vintage bedroom curtains”

  1. They’re pretty! It’s amazing how homely and cosy curtains can make a room feel. It took us ages to find curtains, and with no neighbours it didn’t matter, so we felt no urgency. But when we finally did put some up I realised how much I’d missed having them. I love closing the curtains on a dark evening, I call it ‘getting us tucked in’, and opening curtains to a fresh new day is lovely.
    Pippa makes an excellent supervisor 🙂
    x

    Like

  2. I think they look great! I admire your dedication to getting the project finished – I’ve had a pair of curtains that need the hem readjusting slightly for the past three years…

    Liz x

    Like

Leave a comment